3D Sprites update

There’s now a very high chance that I will be using my 3D Sprites in my final project, so I’ve had another look at it to see if I can streamline the process of creating the 3D sprites. The object I’ve been using up to this point has been a skull model that I made with clay and some other bits and pieces, the process was very long and laborious to take all the required photos of it then manually remove the background and supporting wire from every photo before cropping the images and manually centering them in an image grid in Photoshop. Although I really like the results of using physical objects, the work that would be required to create some kind of semi automated system to speed up the process of making 3D sprites out of them would be far too much work.

Instead I’ve replaced the physical object with a CG object that I can then render out with as many different angles as I need and can make sure that everything is centred automatically. I’ve put together a Python script that allows you to decide how many horizontal and vertical renders it should do. Then I run it through Apple motion to set the positions of the individual elements on a grid and finally I put it through the Gimp to flatten all the images into one image  I’ve included two different renders to demonstrate the concept below.

 

this is a 10×10 sprite grid at 1024×1024 resolution

this is a 30×30 sprite grid at 1024×1024 resolution.

The next step I need to take with this is to find a way to get the rotations to work on three axis instead of the two that it currently works with. I’ve contacted Ian Martin at the school of computing to see if he can put me in touch with someone who can help me finish it. Fingers crossed, this might be the point where I finally finish this thing at last!

About garrywhitton

I'm a masters student studying animation and visualisation. I am exploring the use of games technology for therapy and relaxation.
This entry was posted in Development. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

